World Poker Tour Starts Shooting Star Selection Process

New names, faces will have a target on their back.

For those with a keen eye on social media, you might have noticed that early invites to the 2015 Bay 101 Shooting Star have already taken place.

The newly resurgent Bay 101 Casino twitter account has been sending out invites to faces both familiar and new to see if they’ll be available to be hunted down as bounties in the festive March tournament.

Of course there’s some classic invites: Erik Seidel, Antonio Esfandiai, Scotty Nguyen, Jen Harman and future Hall of Famer Daniel Negreanu have all formally been invited.

The past 5 season’s WPT Player of the Year have all been reached out to as well: Mukul Pahuja, Matt Salsberg, Joe Serock, Andy Frankenberger and San Jose’s own Faraz Jaka.

Last year’s Champion James Carroll and young gun Michael Rocco who was the “California Swing” winner last year are also on the wanted list.

There’s some new faces in the mix too.

Look closely. Yep, in that last list is Bluff Magazine's minister of information Kevin Mathers! Kevmath gets the nod to be a Shooting Star in 2015 along with Lily Kiletto, Team Ivey’s Jared Jaffee, Kevin Stammen and Ronit Chamani.

By our count, that’s 17 names that have public offers, but traditionally there’s been around 50 players given the honor of having local donkeys shoving light on them in hopes to get the $2500 cash bonus that comes along with knocking out a bounty.

With it’s recently reduced buy-in of $7500, the guarantee of big-time poker superstars in the mix and what is arguably the most fanatical fan base of the entire tour, the Bay 101 is one of the crown jewels in the WPT schedule.

Want to be ahead of the news curve…give Bay 101 a follow and see who they extend an invite to next, or flame them with suggestions of your own.

If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, call the Virginia Council on Problem Gambling (VACPG) helpline at 1-888-532-3500
published 9 years, 5 months ago • by permalink

Keep Reading:

« Back to Homepage